Change Workspace Collaborators' Roles and Permissions

This feature is available to Business users

By assigning different roles and permissions to your workspace collaborators, you can define and limit what they can view, access and edit in your notes.

 


 

In this Article:

 


 

What Are Roles and Permissions?

You can assign different roles and permissions to other users who have been invited to collaborate on your workspaces, allowing you to define and/or restrict their access and editing privileges. 

 

There are currently four roles which can be assigned to workspace collaborators, each with their own set of access and editing privileges:

 

 

By setting appropriate roles and permissions for your MeisterNote workspaces, you can collaborate effectively and ensure that sensitive data is kept safe and secure.

 

Roles and permissions are assigned on a workspace basis.

If you are the administrator of one workspace, this does not automatically make you the administrator of other workspaces created by your team.


 

Change Collaborators' Roles and Permissions

Workspace administrators can change collaborators' roles and permissions directly from the Dashboard. To do this:

 

  1. From the MeisterNote Dashboard, click on the ellipsis (...) next to a workspace.
  2. Click (i) Information to access workspace preferences.

    mceclip0.png
  3. Find the user whose role you'd like to change and click the small arrow next to their current role. 
  4. Select a new role from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click Done.

    mceclip1.png

 

Roles Available in MeisterNote:

The following four roles are currently available: 

 

  • Administrator:

Administrators have full control over the workspace. They can modify notes, user permissions and change all workspace properties (name, description, workspace group, etc.).

 

  •  Project Member:

Members can modify notes in the workspace (create, edit, move, archive, delete etc.) and leave comments. However, they may not change any workspace properties. 

 

  • Commenter: 

Commenters can view workspaces and comment on notes, but cannot modify either in any way. When a commenter comments on a note, they are automatically added as a watcher and are subsequently notified of additional comments.

 

  • Viewer

Individuals with read-only privileges can open a workspace and view all notes, but they cannot edit either in any way.

 


 

Any other questions?

 

Reach out to MeisterNote Support for help!